Managing assets in projects

If you have the Editor or Admin role in a project, you can manage assets. You can see all assets on the Assets page in a project.

Edit assets

To edit an asset, click its name on the Assets page. What you can edit depends on the type of asset:

  • Data assets from files or connected data assets: You can edit the asset properties or click Refine to open the asset in Data Refinery.
  • Connection assets: You can edit the connection properties.
  • Notebooks: When you click the name, the notebook appears in preview mode. Click the edit icon (Edit icon) to open the Jupyter notebook editor with the notebook in edit mode.
  • Other analytical assets: The appropriate editor tool opens with the asset.

The lock icon (Lock icon) indicates that another collaborator is editing the asset or locked the asset to prevent editing by other users.

The color of the lock indicates whether you can unlock and edit a locked asset:

  • Blue: You can unlock a locked asset if you locked it or if you have the Admin role in the project. You can see the collaborator who locked the asset if you hover over the lock.
  • Black: You can’t unlock a locked asset if you didn’t lock it and you have the Editor or Viewer role in the project.

When you unlock an asset that another collaborator is editing, you take control of the asset. The other collaborator is not notified and any changes made by that collaborator are overwritten by your edits.

Remove an asset from a project

If you have the Admin role, you can remove assets from the project.

To remove an asset from a project, choose the Remove or the Delete option from the action menu next to the asset on the project Assets page.

Which option you use depends on the type of asset:

  • The Delete option removes the asset from the project and its associated file from the project’s IBM Cloud Object Storage bucket. For example, if you delete a notebook, the notebook asset is no longer shown in the project and the notebook file that is stored in IBM Cloud Object Storage is deleted.
  • The Remove option removes the asset from the project but does not affect any associated data. For example, if you remove a connection, the connection asset is no longer shown in the project but the data in the associated data source is not affected.