Data classification

Data classification describes the sensitivity level of the data and the type of content of the data. Data classification helps catalog members understand the data and identifies the type of data to restrict in policies.

Data assets are classified by these methods:

Asset classifications
Describe the type of sensitive information in the asset, for example, sensitive personal information, personally identifiable information, confidential, or none. You choose the classification of an asset when you add the asset to a governed catalog. You cannot add a classification to assets in ungoverned catalogs. The classification is visible to all catalog members on the Overview tab of the asset. The owner of the asset and other asset or catalog members with the Editor or Admin role can change the classification by editing the asset.
Data classes
Describe the type of content of each column in a relational data asset, for example, city, account number, or credit card number. Data classes are logically grouped into data class groups. The data classes and data class groups are provided by IBM. In governed catalogs, relational data assets are automatically profiled and assigned data classes. In ungoverned catalogs, you can choose to profile a relational data asset and choose which data classes to assign. All catalog users can see the data classes in the asset preview on the Overview and Profile pages of the asset.

You can include asset classifications and data classes in data protection rules to identify the type of data to control.

You can rename asset classifications and data classes by associating them with business glossary terms that make sense for your organization.

Learn more