Removing an asset from a catalog
You can remove an asset from a catalog when you no longer need it. If you change your mind, you can restore an asset from the trash back into the catalog. You can permanently delete an asset by deleting it from the trash.
When you remove a connection asset, the data assets that depend on the connection stay in the catalog, but you won’t be able to preview their data or add them to projects.
- Required permissions
- You can remove an assets from a catalog if both of the following conditions are true:
- You have the Admin or Editor role in the catalog.
- You are the asset owner or a member of the asset.
Removing an asset
To remove an asset, use one of these methods from within a catalog:
- On the asset's Overview page, click Remove.
- On the catalog Browse page, click Remove from the ACTIONS menu next to the asset.
You can also delete an asset by using the Watson Data API. See Watson Data API: Mark existing asset for deletion.
When you remove an asset from a catalog, it stays in the trash until you delete it from the trash.
Restoring an asset from trash
You can restore an asset by moving it from the trash and back into a catalog with the Watson Data API: Restore an asset method.
Deleting an asset from trash
If you have the Watson Knowledge Catalog Standard or Enterprise Bundle offering plan, you are billed for the number of assets in your catalogs. Assets that are removed from catalogs but not yet deleted from the trash are included in the asset count.
You can delete an asset from the trash with the Watson Data API: Delete an asset from trash method.
Parent topic: Catalog assets