0 / 0
Securing your data in Data Replication
Securing your data in Data Replication

Securing your data in Data Replication

To ensure that you can securely manage your data when you use IBM Data Replication, it is important to know exactly what data is stored and encrypted and how you can delete any stored personal data.

How your data is stored and encrypted in Data Replication

The Data Replication service has security that is built into all levels of its architecture. The following methods are used to secure your data:

  • Data at rest is encrypted using cryptographic algorithms.
  • Data in motion is encrypted through SSL/TLS.
  • When deployed to IBM Cloud, backplane network connectivity is supported through IBM Cloud Service Endpoints.
  • Encrypted connections are enforced by default. For more information, see SSL connectivity.

Deleting your data in Data Replication

To delete your data within the service, delete the data replication assets from your projects and catalogs. You can find a list of your replication assets on the Data Replication dashboard. Before you can delete a data replication asset, you must stop the data replication. Stopping the data replication deletes the microservices for that asset. The connections, schemas, and tables that are associated with the data replication remain after you delete a data replication asset. Deleting a data replication asset automatically deletes the jobs that are associated with the asset, as well as the job logs. When you delete a data replication asset that has a source connection of type Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL, the PostgreSQL replication slots for the data replication asset delete automatically.

To remove an asset, use one of these methods:

  • On the asset's Details page, click the Delete replication icon.
  • On the project's Assets page, click Delete from the Options menu next to the asset.
  • On the catalog's Browse assets page, click Remove from the Options menu next to the asset.

You can restore an asset within 30 days of removing it with a REST API call.

Deleting Data Replication instances

When you delete a Data Replication service instance, data replication assets that are associated with that service instance stop running.

The Data Replication data retention policy describes how long your data is stored after you delete the service. The data retention policy is included in the service description, which you can find in the Data Replication Terms and Notices.

Parent topic: Data Replication