0 / 0
Managing assets in projects

Managing assets in projects

You can manage assets in a project by adding them, editing them, or deleting them.

Edit assets

You can edit the properties of all types of assets, such as the asset name, description, and tags. See Asset types and properties.

The role you need to edit an asset depends on the asset type. See Project collaborator roles.

Data assets from files, connected data assets, or imported data assets
  • Click the data asset name to open the asset. For some types of data, you can see an asset preview.
  • To edit the data asset properties, such as its name, tags, and description, click the corresponding edit icon (edit icon) on the information pane.
  • To create or update a profile of relational data, click the Profile tab.
  • To cleanse and shape relational data, click Prepare data to open the data asset in Data Refinery.

When you change the name of data assets with file attachments that you uploaded into the project, the file attachments are also renamed. You must update any references to the data asset in code-based assets, like notebooks, to the new data asset name, otherwise, the code-based asset won't run.

To edit the properties, click edit icon.

To edit the properties, click the edit icon (edit icon).

Connection assets
Click the connection asset name to edit the connection properties, such as the name, description, and connection details.
Assets that you create with tools
Click the name of the asset on the Assets page to open it in its tool.

On the Assets page of a project, the lock icon (Lock icon) indicates that another collaborator is editing the asset or locked the asset to prevent editing by other users.

  • Enabled lock: You can unlock the asset if you locked it or if you have the Admin role in the project.
  • Disabled lock: You can't unlock a locked asset if you didn't lock it and you have the Editor or Viewer role in the project.

When you unlock an asset that another collaborator is editing, you take control of the asset. The other collaborator is not notified and any changes made by that collaborator are overwritten by your edits.

Delete an asset from a project

Required permissions
You must have the Admin or Editor role to delete assets from the project.

To delete an asset from a project, choose the Delete or the Remove option from the action menu next to the asset on the project Assets page. When you delete an asset, its associated file, if it has one, is also deleted. However, when you delete a connected data asset, the data in the associated data source is not affected.

Depending on the type of asset, other related assets might also be deleted.

Learn more

Parent topic: Projects

Generative AI search and answer
These answers are generated by a large language model in watsonx.ai based on content from the product documentation. Learn more