0 / 0
Starting, stopping, pausing, and resuming reporting for Watson Knowledge Catalog
Starting, stopping, pausing, and resuming reporting for Watson Knowledge Catalog

Starting, stopping, pausing, and resuming reporting for Watson Knowledge Catalog

Take control of reporting synchronization by starting, stopping, pausing, and resuming the synchronization of Watson Knowledge Catalog data into the reporting data mart.

Starting report synchronization

To start reporting, click Start reporting. The data is sent to the selected database, and you can start generating reports with SQL queries. Refer to the data model diagram to get started with the queries.

The data is automatically synchronized between Watson Knowledge Catalog and the database. Any change in the catalog, project, category, or data protection rule that is enabled for reporting is reflected on the database.

Stopping report synchronization

You can stop the synchronization of Watson Knowledge Catalog data into the reporting data mart when interruptions occur.

When you stop reporting, the data is no longer synchronized and it is deleted from the database. The existing reporting settings are retained.

Pausing and resuming report synchronization

You can pause the synchronization of Watson Knowledge Catalog data into the reporting data mart when interruptions occur instead of stopping it completely. Any updates that are made to assets or artifacts while paused are processed when you resume synchronization.

Handling reporting failures

If the synchronization fails after you modify the reporting settings, the synchronization is still established for the previous settings. In some cases, synchronization for a particular item fails and the rest items that are in queue are not synchronized as well. You can choose to restart the synchronization for only items that failed, for items that failed and items in queue, and for all configured items. Depending on the option you choose, the process might take a while. Learn more about Setting up reporting for Watson Knowledge Catalog.

If you want to remove the reporting data from the database and start with a new configuration, complete these steps:

  1. Click Stop reporting. The data is no longer synchronized and it is deleted from the database. The existing reporting settings are retained.
  2. Click Reset settings. The settings are restored to the default state. You can then define a new connection and configure the reporting in a different way.

Parent topic: Setting up reporting for Watson Knowledge Catalog